Yesterday my 8th grade class worked on a poem entitled “The Wolf”. After a long discussion and some comprehension work, I asked them to create their own poem. I asked them to use their imagination – imagining it’s in the middle of the night and they heard the dog barking outside.

While they were working on their poem, I challenged them to make a spontaneous poem together. So, I started with the first two-lines, and then the class and I completed it together:

In the middle of the night I heard the dog barking,

I thought it was the ghost singing,

When suddenly I heard the bell ringing,

And there was an old man waiting.

 

I was scared, I trembled,

And I started to mumble,

So I wet my pyjama,

While screaming, “Mamaaa!!”

 

It was fun, indeed! I love playing with words, especially when I have to make rhymes.

Hmmm…. I guess I’ll make more spontaneous poems.

