They had it as a writing test last week. I asked them to look at one of the pictures of Tsunami aftermath, they came with wonderful poems. I am amazed. So I take 4 samples among 21.

 

A SURVIVOR’S DISMAY by Gabriella Mitra Rouli

Ruins, ruins everywhere

By the time I realise the devastating wave has gone

I, too, take notice that everything else has gone

Coming like a burglar at night

The tsunami has robbed and taken away things and lives

So I sit here in despondency and cry with all my might

As the catastrophe rips my heart apart like it was with knives

 

Rubbles, rubbles everywhere

They were all what’s left after the tsunami

How am I going to pursue life now?

How am I going to survive after everything has lost?

I worry day and night

I suffer and I still have to fight

The road of life has turned into such a mournful song

God, what have I done wrong?

 

The tsunami, the harbour wave

It has left me with not much to save…

The catastrophe may be ephemeral

But the pain and agony will be eternal

For I will never forget

The dismay that the devastating wave once gave me…

_________________________________________________________

AHMED by Margaretha Lumbanraja

My name is Ahmed

I had a beautiful life

I loved my life

But not today

 

I had a nice house

Red bricks and covered by green paint

My family and I lived there

But not today

 

Now, I’m sitting on one of my walls

My house has broken into pieces

Like a puzzle, scattered everywhere

Yes, it is now

 

The wave, the gigantic wave

It came into my house

And falling into my house

And gone away, without responsibility

 

My name is Ahmed

And I’m the victim

The victim of tsunami

Tsunami, the monster wave

__________________________________________________________

DEVASTATING TSUNAMI by Jonathan Raharjo

Horror and terror all I can see

People crying, bodies lying, what a terrible scene

A rush of water was all that it took

To rock a city down to its core

 

The rush was fast

The rush was swift

It didn’t care for you and me

With one stroke it destroyed it all

 

The world was bleeding, can you see?

But sometimes it’s oblivious to you and me

For one rush took it all

Every great thing had its fall

__________________________________________________________

THE EVIL WAVE by Mariska Dwi Indah

People were crying

Crying for their loved one

Their loved one who had lost

Lost and drowned in the evil wave

 

Smile, happiness, laughter

Were swept by a giant wave

Left the tear, sadness and terror

In everyone’s heart

 

The night before

People were dancing and laughing

Having their party on the beach

But now

No one smiles

No one laughs

No one dances

Only cries were heard

 

The evil wave had destroyed all of the things

Swept anything and took everything

